Malcolm Parson

Malcolm Parson is best known for his work as a member of both Turtle Island Quartet and Grammy winning Carolina Chocolate Drops. As a composer, he ​had his first break in 2019 by collaborating with Brian McOmber on the soundtrack to Little Woods (dir. Nia Dacosta). Since then, his film work has continued with projects such as The Sentence of Michael Thompson, Good Ol Girl, Ballet After Dark, LA28, Laying Flowers.:.Setting Fires, The World’s Greatest Storyteller, and currently If I Go Will They Miss Me. As a cellist, he has performed on several featured films including Palmer, Kingdom of Silence, Mudbound, and Blow The Man Down. ​​In concert, he has performed with Somi, Kelsey Lue, The Eagles, Dianna Agron, Terence Blanchard, Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn, Yebba, PJ Morton, BJ The Chicago Kid, Victory Boyd, Paquito D’Rivera, and Cyrus Chestnut to name a few. He has appeared on The David Letterman Show with Rhiannon Giddens, 2018 MTV VMA’s with Shawn Mendes, and The Jimmy Fallon Show with Niall Horan, The Roots, and Salaam Remi. Currently, Parson is nominated for Best Instrumental Jazz Album for his work on Terence Blanchard's latest release, "Absence" featuring E-Collective and Turtle Island Quartet. We released his album 'Letters from Home' in 2022, a lushly arranged collection of pieces for piano, strings, synths and guitar inspired by a return to his native New Orleans.


Letters from Home

Singles / Top Tracks

No Love Lost
Ancestral Altar